Posted by: gmscan | April 13, 2012

My Lenten Recess

I decided to stop flapping my lips for Lent and spend the time in deeper reflection and prayer. The cross and the resurrection is, after all, what this is all about. If Jesus had only died, he might be remembered as a martyr who had some wise things to say and was mercilessly persecuted for it.

But he was not a martyr. He was God himself and the resurrection proved it. He rose, not as a ghost or a spirit, but in the flesh. He had wounds. He wanted to eat. But it wasn’t just a zombie body, either. It was a body worthy of the New Heaven and the New Earth. It could pass through walls. It could vanish.

Do I actually believe this? You’re damned right I do. I am reading N.T. Wright’s “Surprised by Hope” in which he summarizes the historical record which he examines in more detail elsewhere. The record is unimpeachable. It really happened.

God – the same God who created the universe from a thought – walked among us for a few years. He became one of us. Many people knew him and touched him and fed him. He invited us to love him as much as he loves us. He asked us to become his brothers and sisters.

We killed him and still he continued to love us and forgive us because we didn’t know what we were doing. We still don’t know what we are doing. But Jesus knows.

Faced with this truth, I was awestruck. I needed to stop for a while and check in with the Lord. Am I doing what you want me to do? His answer was yes. God didn’t give me a lot of talents but he gave me a few, and he wants me not to bury them, but use them to their fullest so when he comes back I will have something to show for the trust he has given me.

One of those talents is writing this blog, and boy, do I have some things stored up.  Talks with you soon.

Responses

  1. Looking forward to them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

